Acivs 2010

Advanced Concepts for Intelligent Vision Systems

Photo: Sally Mayman, Courtesy of Tourism New South Wales Acivs logo

Dec. 13-16, 2010

Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia

The proceedings of Acivs 2010 are available on line as two volumes: LNCS 6474 and LNCS 6475. LNCS

Acivs 2010 is a conference focusing on techniques for building adaptive, intelligent, safe and secure imaging systems. Acivs 2010 consists of four days of lecture sessions, both regular (25 mns) and invited presentations, poster sessions and a special session on Distributed Camera Systems. The proceedings of Acivs 2010 will be published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series and are listed in the ISI proceedings index.

Acivs 2010 will also feature a conference dinner, and other social activities. These are included in the conference fee.

Invited speakers

Acivs 2010 will feature the following invited talks:

Conference topics include (but are not limited to)

Both classical research papers and application papers are welcome.

Special session on distributed camera systems

Organizers: Richard Kleihorst, VITO NV & Ghent University, Belgium; Abbas Bigdeli, NICTA, Australia.

Single camera vision is a process that looses information by projecting a 3D scene on the 2D image sensor. In order to retrieve 3D scene information either depth cameras, object motion or multiple view directions are necessary. In this special session we invite papers on intelligent vision systems that explicitly make use of multiple cameras or multiple visual sensors to approach a vision challenge.

Example Areas of Interest

Prospective authors of papers should indicate during their submission that their contribution is aimed at this special session. The Program Chairs may move papers that are otherwise of high-quality to the main conference program if they don't fit the scope of the special session.


The conference will take place in the Macquarie Park Conference Centre, Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia on Dec. 13-16, 2010. See the map of the campus.

Travel Information

Get the best price for your flight with Air France and KLM Global Meetings.

Event ID Code to keep for the booking: 09080AF

More info can be found here.


The Acivs 2010 organisers have made arrangements with two hotels located at the conference venue to offer a reduction to the participants of Acivs 2010.

Conference proceedings

The proceedings of Acivs 2010 will be published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. LNCS is published, in parallel to the printed books, in full-text electronic form via Springer Verlag's internet platform (

Conference fees

The conference fee includes the social program (conference dinner, opening reception, and cultural activities), coffee breaks, daily lunches and a hard-copy of the proceedings.

On or before October 15, 2010 After October 15, 2010
Regular 790 AU$ 890 AU$
IEEE Member 690 AU$ 790 AU$
Student 590 AU$ 690 AU$


Important deadlines

May 29, 2010 Full paper submission
July 30, 2010 Notification of acceptance
September 15, 2010 Camera-ready papers due
September 15, 2010 Registration deadline for authors of accepted papers
October 15, 2010 Early registration deadline
Dec. 13-16, 2010 Acivs 2010

Steering Committee

, DGA, Bagneux, France.
, Ghent University - IBBT, Ghent, Belgium.
, CSIRO, Sydney, Australia.
, University of Antwerp, Wilrijk, Belgium.

Organising Committee

, Canon Information Systems Research Australia, Sydney, Australia.
, Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia.
, CSIRO, Sydney, Australia.

Program committee

Hamid Aghajan, Stanford University, Stanford, USA.
Marc Antonini, Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis, Nice, France.
Laure Blanc-Feraud, INRIA, Sophia-Antipolis, France.
Philippe Bolon, University of Savoie, Annecy, France.
Salah Bourennane, Ecole Centrale de Marseille, Marseille, France.
Dumitru Burdescu, University of Craiova, Craiova, Romania.
Umberto Castellani, Università degli Studi di Verona, Verona, Italy.
Jocelyn Chanussot, INPG, Grenoble, France.
Pamela Cosman, University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, USA.
Yves D'Asseler, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
Jennifer Davidson, Iowa State University, Ames, USA.
Arturo de la Escalera Hueso, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Leganes, Spain.
Touradj Ebrahimi, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland.
Christine Fernandez-Maloigne, Université de Poitiers, Chasseneuil, France.
Don Fraser, Australian Defence Force Academy, Canberra, Australia.
Jerome Gilles, UCLA, Los Angeles, USA.
Georgy Gimel'farb, The University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand.
Markku Hauta-Kasari, University of Eastern Finland, Joensuu, Finland.
Mark Hedley, CSIRO ICT Centre, Sydney, Australia.
Dimitris Iakovidis, University of Athens, Athens, Greece.
Tianzi Jiang, The Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China.
Arto Kaarna, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Lappeenranta, Finland.
Andrzej Kasinski, Poznan University of Technology, Poznan, Poland.
Richard Kleihorst, VITO, Belgium.
Nikos Komodakis, University of Crete, Crete.
Murat Kunt, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland.
Hideo Kuroda, FPT University, Hanoi, Vietnam.
Olivier Laligant, IUT Le Creusot, Le Creusot, France.
Kenneth Lam, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China.
Peter Lambert, Ghent University, Ledeberg-Ghent, Belgium.
Alessandro Ledda, Artesis University College, Antwerp, Belgium.
Maylor Leung, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Singapore.
Yue Li, CSIRO ICT Centre, Marsfield, Australia.
Brian Lovell, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia.
Guojun Lu, Monash University, Caulfield East, Australia.
Anthony Maeder, University of Western Sydney, Sydney, Australia.
Xavier Maldague, Université de Laval, Québec, Canada.
Joseph Mariani, Université Paris VI, Paris XI, Orsay, France.
Gérard Medioni, USC/IRIS, Los Angeles, USA.
Fabrice Mériaudeau, IUT Le Creusot, Le Creusot, France.
Alfred Mertins, Universität zu Lübeck, Luebeck, Germany.
Jean Meunier, Université de Montréal, Montréal, Canada.
Amar Mitiche, INRS, Montréal, Canada.
Rafael Molina, Universidad de Granada, Granada, Spain.
Adrian Munteanu, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium.
Frank Nielsen, Ecole Polytechnique - Sony CSL, Palaiseau, France.
Fernando Pereira, Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisboa, Portugal.
Stuart Perry, Canon Information Systems Research Australia, Sydney, Australia.
Massimo Piccardi, University of Technology Sydney, Sydney, Australia.
Aleksandra Pizurica, Ghent University - IBBT, Ghent, Belgium.
William Puech, LIRMM, Montpellier, France.
Gianni Ramponi, Trieste University, Trieste, Italy.
Paolo Remagnino, Faculty of Technology, Kingston University, Surrey, UK.
Luis Salgado Alvarez de Sotomayor, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Madrid, Spain.
Guna Seetharaman, AFRL, Rome, USA.
Andrzej Sluzek, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Singapore.
Changming Sun, CSIRO, CMIS, Sydney, Australia.
Hugues Talbot, ESIEE, Noisy-le-Grand, France.
Frederic Truchetet, Université de Bourgogne, Le Creusot, France.
Marc Van Droogenbroeck, University of Liège, Liège, Belgium.
Peter Veelaert, University College Ghent, Ghent, Belgium.
Gerald Zauner, Fachhochschule Oberösterreich, Wels, Austria.
Pavel Zemcik, Brno University of Technology, Brno, Czech Republic.
Djemel Ziou, Sherbrooke University, Sherbrooke, Canada.

This software generating these pages is © (not Ghent University), 2002-2024. All rights reserved.

The data on this page is © Acivs 2010. All rights reserved.

The server hosting this website is owned by the department of Telecommunications and Information Processing (TELIN) of Ghent University.

Problems with the website should be reported to .


This page was generated on Wednesday June 19th, 2024 03:48:37.