Acivs 2010

Advanced Concepts for Intelligent Vision Systems

Photo: Sally Mayman, Courtesy of Tourism New South Wales Acivs logo

Dec. 13-16, 2010

Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia

Acivs 2010 Invited Speakers' Biographies

Mubarak Shah

Dr. Mubarak Shah, Agere Chair Professor of Computer Science, is the founding director of the Computer Visions Lab at UCF. He is a co-author of three books (Motion-Based Recognition (1997), Video Registration (2003), and Automated Multi-Camera Surveillance: Algorithms and Practice (2008)), all by Springer.

He has published extensively on topics related to visual surveillance, tracking, human activity and action recognition, object detection and categorization, shape from shading, geo registration, photo realistic synthesis, visual crowd analysis and biomedical imaging among others.

Dr. Shah is a fellow of IEEE, IAPR, AAAS and SPIE. In 2006, he was awarded the Pegasus Professor award, the highest award at UCF, given to a faculty member who has made a significant impact on the university, has made an extraordinary contribution to the university community, and has demonstrated excellence in teaching, research and service. He is an ACM Distinguished Speaker. He was an IEEE Distinguished Visitor speaker for 1997-2000, and received IEEE Outstanding Engineering Educator Award in 1997. He received the Harris Corporation's Engineering Achievement Award in 1999, the TOKTEN awards from UNDP in 1995, 1997, and 2000; Teaching Incentive Program awards in 1995 and 2003; Research Incentive Award in 2003 and 2009; Millionaires' Club awards in 2005, 2006, and 2009; University Distinguished Researcher award in 2007; SANA award in 2007; an honorable mention for the ICCV 2005 Where Am I? Challenge Problem, and was nominated for the best paper award in ACM Multimedia Conference in 2005.

He is an editor of an international book series on Video Computing; editor in chief of Machine Vision and Applications journal, and an associate editor of the ACM Computing Surveys journal. He was an associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on PAMI, and a guest editor of the special issue of International Journal of Computer Vision on Video Computing. He was the program co-chair of the IEEE Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR), 2008.


Presentation: UAV Video Analysis

David Suter

David Suter received a in applied mathematics and physics (The Flinders University of South Australia 1977) , a Grad. Dip. Comp.(Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology 1984)), and a Ph.D. in computer science (La Trobe University, 1991).

He was a Lecturer at La Trobe from 1988 to 1991; and a Senior Lecturer (1992), Associate Professor (2001), and Professor (2006-2008) at Monash University, Melbourne, Australia.

Since 2008 he has been a professor in the school of Computer Science, The University of Adelaide. He is head of the School of Computer Science. He also serves on the Australian Research Council (ARC) College of Experts.

He is on the editorial boards of International Journal of Computer Vision and the Journal of Mathematical Imaging and Vision. He has previously served on the editorial boards of Machine Vision and Applications and the International Journal of Image and Graphics. He was General co-Chair or the Asian Conference on Computer Vision (Melbourne 2002) and is currently co-Chair of the IEEE International Conference on Image Processing (ICIP2013).


Presentation: Image Analysis - is it just applied statistical analysis and approximation theory?

Richard Kleihoirst

Richard Kleihorst received his PhD from Delft University, NL in 1994. He has been working in Philips Research Labs and NXP Research on image processing architecture design and algorithm-architecture co-design. Presently he is working at VITO in the field of remote sensing and sensor networks to monitor human activity. Special interests are for smart camera networks and visual sensor network architecture and electronics. He is affiliated with Ghent University, Belgium.


Presentation: Remote sensing options

This software generating these pages is © (not Ghent University), 2002-2024. All rights reserved.

The data on this page is © Acivs 2010. All rights reserved.

The server hosting this website is owned by the department of Telecommunications and Information Processing (TELIN) of Ghent University.

Problems with the website should be reported to .


This page was generated on Tuesday July 16th, 2024 13:54:14.