Mirage logo

Mirage 2005

Computer Vision / Computer Graphics Collaboration Techniques and Applications

March, 1-2 2005

INRIA Rocquencourt, France




The deadline for paper submission has been extended to November 30, 2004.

Mirage 2005 is an international conference with focus on Computer Vision/Computer Graphics collaboration techniques involving image analysis/synthesis approaches. In the domain of Computer Vision, this analysis by synthesis collaboration may take the form of model-based approaches for which the analysis, recognition or understanding process does not rely on the data only but is linked to the optimization of a parametric model introduced A PRIORI.

In the field of Computer Graphics, this thematic refers to image-based approaches which found the modeling, animation, lighting or rendering process on the analysis of real pre-existing data in order to gain in productivity or in realism. In both cases, this extraction and synthesis collaboration can be iterative and conducted in a loop: the synthesized information laying the foundations for a better characterization that will in turn enable the synthesis step. Augmented Reality is a direct application of this collaboration. Authors are encouraged to submit papers on theoretical, computational, experimental or industrial aspects of model-based image analysis and image-based model synthesis.

Mirage 2005 will be held in the new Jacques-Louis Lions conference room of the INRIA Rocquencourt research centre on March, 1-2 2005. The INRIA Rocquencourt research centre is located at a short drive of the historic Versailles castle.

Topics include (but are not limited to)

With applications in the field of

Invited presentations

Hans-Peter Seidel will present an invited paper entitled: "3D Image Analysis and Synthesis at MPI Informatik"

Radek Grzeszczuk will present an invited paper entitled "Image-Based Modeling for Interactive Rendering in Graphics Hardware"

Venue and transportation

The Symposium will take place in the new Jacques-Louis Lions conference room within the INRIA Rocquencourt research centre. The center can be easily reached by car, by train or by bus, either by taking public transportations or the free INRIA facilities. The different routes are fully detailed on the INRIA special webpage.

Should a sufficient number of people be interested, a free daily shuttle between Paris and Rocquencourt could be provided. If you are interested, please tick the appropriate box on the registration form.

Registration fees do not include lodging and travel expenses. Some information on accommodation in Paris or Versailles is available on the Paris and Versailles web sites.

In case of any problem as well as for additional information, do not hesitate to get in touch with the conference office which will operate during the whole conference.

Conference languages

English and French

Paper submission and review process

Prospective authors should prepare a full paper and submit it electronically. The paper should consist of 5-10 pages in A4 format and should conform to the style guidelines outlined on the Mirage 2005 website. LaTeX style sheets (preferred), MSWord templates and detailed information on the submission process can be found on the Mirage 2005 website.

All submissions will be reviewed by at least 2 members of the Program Committee; additional reviewers will be consulted if necessary. The papers should provide sufficient background information and should clearly indicate the original contribution. They should state and discuss the main results and provide adequate references.

Confererence proceedings

Accepted papers will be published in the CD-Rom conference proceedings in pdf-format. Authors are encouraged to include additional multimedia content like sound files, demo's and video sequences, subject to space availability. Authors wishing to take advantage of this possibility should contact the Steering Committee for additional instructions.

Important deadlines

November 30, 2004 Full paper submission
January 15, 2005 Notification of acceptance
February 1, 2005 Camera-ready papers due
February 1, 2005 Registration deadline for authors of accepted papers
February 1, 2005 Early registration deadline
February 15, 2005 Late registration deadline
March, 1-2 2005 Mirage 2005

Mirage 2005 Registration

Due to security policy, the number of seats at the conference is strictly limited: thus, early registration is strongly recommended. Registration is possible by filling out the registration form available as a pdf file and a Word document. Please send the form to the address mentioned in the form. Fees will be fully returned for any written cancellation received up to 8 days before the conference. No refund will be made in respect of cancellation received after this date.

Registration fees include free access to any exhibition within the conference, a copy of the conference proceedings, lunches and coffee breaks; a social program will also be available. Registration fees do not cover lodging and travel expenses.

Conference chair

André Gagalowicz, INRIA Rocquencourt, France.

Conference Program co-chairs

Oliver Grau, BBC, Tadworth, UK.
Cédric Guiard, THALES, Paris, France.

Steering Committee

André Gagalowicz, INRIA Rocquencourt, France.
Wilfried Philips, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
Dominique Potherat, INRIA Rocquencourt, France.
Richard Roussel, INRIA, Le Chesnay, France.

Program Committee

Frédéric Cao, INRIA/IRISA, Rennes, France.
Patrick De Smet, TELIN, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
Rachid Deriche, INRIA, Sohia-Antipolis, France.
Reyes Enciso, USC, Los Angeles, USA.
Sidharta Gautama, TELIN, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
Georgy Gimel'farb, University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand.
Andrew Glassner, Coyote Wind, Seattle, USA.
Oliver Grau, BBC, Tadworth, UK.
Radek Grzeszczuk, Intel Corporation, Santa Clara, USA.
Cédric Guiard, THALES, Paris, France.
Aaron Hertzmann, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada.
Tosiyasu Kunii, Kanazawa Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan.
Denis Laurendeau, Laval University, Quebec City, Canada.
Ales Leonardis, Ljubljana University, Ljubljana, Slovenia.
Klaus-Eberhard Liedtke, Universität Hannover, Hannover, Germany.
Vincent Masselus, KULeuven, Leuven, Belgium.
Vittorio Murino, Verone University, Italy.
Jean-Claude Paul, LORIA, France.
Dietrich Paulus, University of Koblenz, Germany.
Shmuel Peleg, The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel.
Wilfried Philips, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
Dan Popescu, CSIRO, Sidney, Australia.
Zoran Popovic, University of Washington, USA.
Hans Peter Seidel, Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Saarbrüken, Germany.
Wladislaw Skarbek, Warsaw University of Technology, Warsaw, Poland.
Franc Solina, University of Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia.
Tieniu Tan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China.
Daniel Thalmann, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland.
Emanuele Trucco, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK.
Thomas Vetter, Basel university, Basel, Switzerland.
Geoff Wyvill, University of Otago, New Zealand.
Zheng You Zhang, Microsoft, USA.

This software generating these pages is © (not Ghent University), 2002-2024. All rights reserved.

The data on this page is © Mirage 2005. All rights reserved.

The server hosting this website is owned by the department of Telecommunications and Information Processing (TELIN) of Ghent University.

Problems with the website should be reported to .


This page was generated on Tuesday July 16th, 2024 15:06:37.