Conference logo

Acivs 2006

Advanced Concepts for Intelligent Vision Systems

Sept. 18-21, 2006

University of Antwerp, Antwerp, Belgium

Eurasip logo DSP Valley logo
IEEE logo

Benelux Signal
Processing Chapter

UA logo UGent logo
Philips logo
Barco logo
  AVS logo


Acivs 2006 is a conference focusing on techniques for building adaptive, intelligent, safe and secure imaging systems. Acivs 2006 will consist of four days of lecture sessions, both regular (25 mns) and invited presentations, and poster sessions. The proceedings of Acivs 2006 will be published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

Acivs 2006 will also feature a conference dinner, and other social activities. Details of the social activities, which will include a reception and a touristic activity, will be announced soon.

The conference fee (350 € for IEEE-members, Eurasip-members and students and 430 € for other participants) includes the social program (conference dinner, coffee breaks, snacks and cultural activities) and a hard-copy of the LNCS conference proceedings. Students, IEEE and Eurasip members can register at a reduced fee.

Invited speakers

Acivs 2006 will feature the following invited talks:

Topics include (but are not limited to)

Both classical research papers and application papers are welcome.


The conference will take place in the Building G, Middelheim campus, University of Antwerp, Belgium on Sept. 18-21, 2006. The venue can be easily reached from Antwerp Airport - Deurne or by train from Brussels main airport.

Paper submission and review process

Prospective authors should prepare a full paper and submit it electronically. The paper should consist of 8-12 pages in A4 format and should conform to the style guidelines outlined on the Acivs 2006 website. LaTeX style sheets, MSWord templates and more detailed information on the submission process can be found on the Acivs 2006 website (
All submissions will be reviewed by at least 2 members of the Program Committee; additional reviewers will be consulted if needed. The papers should provide sufficient background information and should clearly indicate the original contribution. They should state and discuss the main results and provide adequate references. Paper submission implies that one of the authors will present the paper if it is accepted.

Conference proceedings

The proceedings of Acivs 2006 will be published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. LNCS is published, in parallel to the printed books, in full-text electronic form via Springer Verlags internet platform (

Important deadlines

April 9, 2006 Full paper submission
June 3, 2006 Notification of acceptance
June 26, 2006 Camera-ready papers due
June 26, 2006 Registration deadline for authors of accepted papers
July 14, 2006 Early registration deadline
September 4, 2006 Late registration deadline
Sept. 18-21, 2006 Acivs 2006

Steering Committee

, DGA/D4S/MRIS, Arcueil, France.
, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
, CSIRO, Sydney, Australia.
, University of Antwerp, Wilrijk, Belgium.

Organising Committee

, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
, University of Antwerp, Wilrijk, Belgium.

Program committee

Fritz Albregtsen, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway.
Attila Baskurt, INSA Lyon, Villeurbanne, France.
Laure Blanc-Feraud, CNRS, Sophia-Antipolis, France.
Philippe Bolon, University of Savoie, Annecy, France.
Nikolaos Bourbakis, Wright State University, Dayton, USA.
Salah Bourennane, EGIM, Marseille, France.
Patrick Bouthemy, IRISA/INRIA, Rennes, France.
Jocelyn Chanussot, INPG, Grenoble, France.
David Clausi, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada.
Pamela Cosman, University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, USA.
Jennifer Davidson, Iowa State University, Ames, USA.
Ricardo de Queiroz, Universidade de Brasilia, Brasilia, Brazil.
Christine Fernandez-Maloigne, Université de Poitiers, Chasseneuil, France.
Jan Flusser, Institute of Information Theory and Automation, Prague, Czech Republic.
Don Fraser, University of New South Wales, Canberra, Australia.
Sidharta Gautama, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
Jérôme Gilles, CEP, Arcueil, France.
Georgy Gimel'farb, The University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand.
Daniele Giusto, University of Cagliari, Cagliari, Italy.
Mark Huiskes, CWI, Amsterdam, the Netherlands.
John Illingworth, University of Surrey, Guildford, UK.
Pieter Jonker, Delft University of Technology, Delft, the Netherlands.
Frédéric Jurie, CNRS - INRIA, Saint Ismier, France.
Andrzej Kasinski, Poznan University of Technology, Poznan, Poland.
Ashraf Kassim, National University of Singapore, Singapore, Singapore.
Richard Kleihorst, Philips Research, Eindhoven, the Netherlands.
Murat Kunt, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland.
Hideo Kuroda, Nagasaki University, Nagasaki, Japan.
Kenneth Lam, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China.
Bruce Litow, James Cook University, Townsville, Australia.
Rastislav Lukac, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada.
Jesus Malo, Universitat de Valencia, Burjassot, Spain.
Gérard Medioni, USC/IRIS, Los Angeles, USA.
Fabrice Mériaudeau, IUT Le Creusot, Le Creusot, France.
Ali Mohammad-Djafari, CNRS, Gif-sur-Yvette, France.
Rafael Molina, Universidad de Granada, Granada, Spain.
Vittorio Murino, Università degli Studi di Verona, Verona, Italy.
Edgard Nyssen, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium.
Stanley Osher, UCLA, Los Angeles, USA.
Marcin Paprzycki, SWPS, Warsaw, Poland.
Jussi Parkkinen, University of Joensuu, Joensuu, Finland.
Fernando Pereira, Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisboa, Portugal.
Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu, ENST, Paris, France.
Matti Pietikäinen, University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland.
Aleksandra Pizurica, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
Gianni Ramponi, Trieste University, Trieste, Italy.
Alpesh Kumar Ranchordas, FMx Ltd, Crawley, UK.
Paolo Remagnino, Faculty of Technology, Kingston University, Surrey, UK.
Luis Salgado Álvarez de Sotomayor, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Madrid, Spain.
Frederic Truchetet, Université de Bourgogne, Le Creusot, France.
Dimitri Van De Ville, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland.
Peter Veelaert, University College Ghent, Ghent, Belgium.

This software generating these pages is © (not Ghent University), 2002-2024. All rights reserved.

The data on this page is © Acivs 2006. All rights reserved.

The server hosting this website is owned by the department of Telecommunications and Information Processing (TELIN) of Ghent University.

Problems with the website should be reported to .


This page was generated on Tuesday July 16th, 2024 14:26:53.