Conference logo

Acivs 2005

Advanced Concepts for Intelligent Vision Systems

Sept 20-23, 2005

University of Antwerp, Antwerp, Belgium

Eurasip logo DSP Valley logo IPS logo
IEEE logo

Benelux Signal
Processing Chapter

UA logo UGent logo
Philips logo
Barco logo


Acivs 2005 is a conference focusing on techniques for building adaptive, intelligent, safe and secure imaging systems. Acivs 2005 will consist of four days of lecture sessions, both regular (25 mns) and invited presentations, and poster sessions. The proceedings of Acivs 2005 will be published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

Acivs 2005 will also feature a conference dinner, and other social activities. Details of the social activities, which will include a reception and a touristic activity, will be announced soon.

The conference fee (350 € for IEEE-members, Eurasip-members and students and 430 € for other participants) includes the social program (conference dinner, coffee breaks, snacks and cultural activities) and a hard-copy of the LNCS conference proceedings. Students, IEEE and Eurasip members can register at a reduced fee.

Invited speakers

Acivs 2005 will feature the following invited speakers: Fernando Pereira (Instituto Superior Tťcnico, Lisboa, Portugal); Rafael Molina (Universidad de Granada, Spain); Marc Op de Beeck (Philips research, Eindhoven, the Netherlands).

Topics include (but are not limited to)

Both classical research papers and application papers are welcome.


The conference will take place in the Building G, Middelheim campus, University of Antwerp, Belgium on Sept 20-23, 2005. The venue can be easily reached from Antwerp Airport - Deurne or by train from Brussels main airport.

Paper submission and review process

Prospective authors should prepare a full paper and submit it electronically. The paper should consist of 4-8 pages in A4 format and should conform to the style guidelines outlined on the Acivs 2005 website. LaTeX style sheets, MSWord templates and more detailed information on the submission process can be found on the Acivs 2005 website (
All submissions will be reviewed by at least 2 members of the Program Committee; additional reviewers will be consulted if needed. The papers should provide sufficient background information and should clearly indicate the original contribution. They should state and discuss the main results and provide adequate references. Paper submission implies that one of the authors will present the paper if it is accepted.

Conference proceedings

The proceedings of Acivs 2005 will be published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. LNCS is published, in parallel to the printed books, in full-text electronic form via Springer Verlags internet platform (

Important deadlines

Although the official paper submission deadline has past, we will continue to accept papers until April 24th, 2005. If you submit a paper after the official deadline, please take into account that you will be notified about the acceptance or rejection of your paper later than the official deadline for author notification.
April 10, 2005 Full paper submission
May 24, 2005 Notification of acceptance
June 17, 2005 Camera-ready papers due
June 28, 2005 Registration deadline for authors of accepted papers
July 15, 2005 Early registration deadline
August 23, 2005 Late registration deadline
Sept 20-23, 2005 Acivs 2005

Steering Committee

, DGA/D4S/MRIS, Arcueil, France.
, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
, CSIRO ICT Centre, Sydney, Australia.
, University of Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium.

Organising Committee

, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
, University of Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium.

Program committee

Fritz Albregtsen, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway.
Philippe Bolon, University of Savoie, Annecy, France.
Don Bone, Mediaware Solutions, Canberra, ACT, Australia.
David Clausi, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada.
Jean-Pierre Cocquerez, UTC, Compiègne, France.
Pamela Cosman, University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, USA.
Mihai Datcu, German Aerospace Center DLR, Wessling, Germany.
Jennifer Davidson, Iowa State University, Ames, USA.
Christine Fernandez Maloigne, Université de Poitiers, Chasseneuil, France.
Jan Flusser, Institute of Information Theory and Automation, Prague, Czech Republic.
Don Fraser, University of New South Wales, Canberra, Australia.
Georgy Gimel'farb, The University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand.
Daniele Giusto, University of Cagliari, Cagliari, Italy.
Christine Guillemot, IRISA, Rennes, France.
Fred Hamprecht, Ruprecht-Karls-University of Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Germany.
John Illingworth, University of Surrey, Guildford, UK.
Jean-Michel Jolion, INSA, Villeurbanne Cedex, France.
Andrzej Kasinski, Poznan University of Technology, Poznan, Poland.
Ashraf Kassim, National University of Singapore, Singapore, Singapore.
Nahum Kiryati, Tel Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel.
Richard Kleihorst, Philips Research, Eindhoven, The Netherlands.
Ullrich Koethe, University of Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany.
Murat Kunt, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland.
Hideo Kuroda, Nagasaki University, Nagasaki, Japan.
Kenneth Lam, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China.
Bruce Litow, James Cook University, Townsville, Australia.
Brian Lovell, The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia.
Pierre Moulin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, USA.
Mads Nielsen, IT University Of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark.
Edgard Nyssen, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium.
Marcin Paprzycki, Oklahoma State University, Tulsa, USA.
Jussi Parkkinen, University of Joensuu, Joensuu, Finland.
Fernando Pereira, Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisboa, Portugal.
Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu, ENST, Paris, France.
Matti Pietikäinen, University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland.
Aleksandra Pizurica, Ghent University, Gent, Belgium.
Gianni Ramponi, Trieste University, Trieste, Italy.
Thierry Ranchin, Ecole des Mines de Paris, Sophia Antipolis, France.
Murat Tekalp, University of Rochester, Rochester, USA.
Frederic Truchetet, Université de Bourgogne, Le Creusot, France.
Dimitri Van De Ville, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland.
Peter Veelaert, Hogeschool Gent, Ghent, Belgium.

This software generating these pages is © (not Ghent University), 2002-2024. All rights reserved.

The data on this page is © Acivs 2005. All rights reserved.

The server hosting this website is owned by the department of Telecommunications and Information Processing (TELIN) of Ghent University.

Problems with the website should be reported to .


This page was generated on Saturday April 13th, 2024 03:02:23.