Conference logo

Acivs 2004

Advanced Concepts for Intelligent Vision Systems

Aug. 31-Sept. 3, 2004

Brussels, Belgium

Eurasip logo IEEE logo

Benelux Signal
Processing Chapter

VUB logo RUG logo
DSP Valley logo
Philips logo
Barco logo
IPS logo

News. Authors who wish to submit a paper for Acivs 2004 should do so before or on May 10th, 2004. Since this is already an extension on the original deadline, no further deadline extensions will be possible.

Acivs 2004 is a conference focusing on techniques for building adaptive, intelligent, safe and secure imaging systems. Acivs 2004 will consist of four days of lecture sessions, both regular (25 mns) and invited presentations, and poster sessions.

Acivs 2004 will also feature a conference dinner, and other social activities. Last year, these consisted of a "culinary visit" and a boat trip in the historic city center of Ghent. Details of the social activities will be announced soon. They will include a conference dinner, a reception and one or two touristic activities.

The conference fee includes the social program (conference dinner, coffee breaks, snacks and cultural activities) and a copy of the CDROM conference proceedings. Students and IEEE members can register at a reduced fee.

Invited speakers

Acivs 2004 will feature a number of invited speakers. One of the invited speakers will be Ingrid Daubechies (Princeton University, Princeton, USA) and Donald Geman (Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics, Johns Hopkins University and CMLA, Ecole Normale Superieure, Cachan, France).

Special Sessions

Acivs 2004 will feature two special sessions on

Other topics include (but are not limited to)


The conference will take place in the Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium on Aug. 31-Sept. 3, 2004. The venue can be easily reached by train from Brussels main airport.

Paper submission and review process

Prospective authors should prepare a full paper and submit it electronically. The paper should consist of 4-8 pages in A4 format and should conform to the style guidelines outlined on the Acivs 2004 website. LaTeX style sheets, MSWord templates and more detailed information on the submission process can be found on the Acivs 2004 website (
All submissions will be reviewed by at least 2 members of the Program Committee; additional reviewers will be consulted if needed. The papers should provide sufficient background information and should clearly indicate the original contribution. They should state and discuss the main results and provide adequate references. Paper submission implies that one of the authors will present the paper if it is accepted.

Conference proceedings

Accepted papers will be published in the CD-Rom conference proceedings in pdf-format. Authors may optionally include a directory containing additional multimedia content, e.g., sound files, demo's or video sequences, subject to space availability. Authors wishing to take advantage of this possibility should contact the Steering Committee for additional instructions.

Important deadlines

May 10, 2004 Full paper submission
June 10, 2004 Notification of acceptance
July 7, 2004 Camera-ready papers due
June 26, 2004 Registration deadline for authors of accepted papers
July 15, 2004 Early registration deadline
August 23, 2004 Late registration deadline
Aug. 31-Sept. 3, 2004 Acivs 2004

Steering Committee

Jacques Blanc-Talon, DGA/DCE/CTA, Arcueil, France.
Edgard Nyssen, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium.
Wilfried Philips, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
Dan Popescu, CSIRO, Sydney, Australia.

Organising Committee

Karin De Bruyn, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium.
Edgard Nyssen, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium.
Wilfried Philips, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.

Program committee

Fritz Albregtsen, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway.
Philippe Bolon, University of Savoie, Annecy, France.
Don Bone, Mediaware Solutions, Canberra, ACT, Australia.
Mike Brooks, University of Adelaide, Adelaide, Australia.
Pamela Cosman, University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, USA.
Mihai Datcu, German Aerospace Center DLR, Wessling, Germany.
Jennifer Davidson, Iowa State University, Ames, USA.
Christine Fernandez Maloigne, Université de Poitiers, Chasseneuil, France.
Don Fraser, University of New South Wales, Canberra, Australia.
Georgy Gimel'farb, The University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand.
Daniele Giusto, University of Cagliari, Cagliari, Italy.
Christine Guillemot, IRISA, Rennes, France.
John Illingworth, University of Surrey, Guildford, UK.
Jean-Michel Jolion, INSA, Villeurbanne Cedex, France.
Andrzej Kasinski, Poznan University of Technology, Poznan, Poland.
Richard Kleihorst, Philips Research, Eindhoven, The Netherlands.
Hamid Krim, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, USA.
Murat Kunt, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland.
Hideo Kuroda, Nagasaki University, Nagasaki, Japan.
Kenneth Lam, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China.
Bruce Litow, James Cook University, Townsville, Australia.
Wojciech Mokrzycki, IPIPAN, Warsaw, Poland.
Mads Nielsen, IT University Of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark.
Marcin Paprzycki, Oklahoma State University, Tulsa, USA.
Jussi Parkkinen, University of Joensuu, Joensuu, Finland.
Fernando Pereira, Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisboa, Portugal.
Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu, ENST, Paris, France.
Matti Pietikäinen, University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland.
Gianni Ramponi, Trieste University, Trieste, Italy.
Thierry Ranchin, Ecole des Mines de Paris, Sophia Antipolis, France.
Jocelyn Serot, Universite Blaise Pascal, Clermont-Ferrand, France.
Georges Stamon, Paris V University, Paris, France.
Wojciech Szpankowski, Purdue University, W. Lafayette, USA.
Murat Tekalp, Rochester University, Rochester, USA.
Frederic Truchetet, Le2i, Le Creusot, France.
Dimitri Van De Ville, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland.

This software generating these pages is © (not Ghent University), 2002-2024. All rights reserved.

The data on this page is © Acivs 2004. All rights reserved.

The server hosting this website is owned by the department of Telecommunications and Information Processing (TELIN) of Ghent University.

Problems with the website should be reported to .


This page was generated on Tuesday July 16th, 2024 14:24:41.