sps-darts 2005 logo


The first annual
IEEE BENELUX/DSP Valley Signal Processing Symposium

April 19-20, 2005

Het Provinciehuis, Antwerp, Belgium


IEEE logo

Benelux Signal
Processing Chapter

SPS-DARTS 2005 Call for Papers and Demonstrations

SPS-DARTS 2005 is a conference focusing on signal processing research and development in the Benelux area. It is the result of a merger between DSP Valley's Annual Research & Technology Symposium (DARTS) and the IEEE BENELUX Signal Processing Symposium.

SPS-DARTS 2005 will be held on April 19-20, 2005 in Het Provinciehuis, Antwerp, Belgium. The program will consist of invited tutorials, selected oral papers and demonstrations. These will be scheduled in parallel tracks focusing on research and industrial developments in signal processing, respectively.

SPS-DARTS 2005 aims to be a high-level networking platform between industrial and academic players, where technology managers and decision makers can explore the newest signal processing technologies, discover common interest domains and complementary skills and expertise, and explore new opportunities for co-operation.

Scope and Topics

Topics include (but are not limited to):

Format of the Symposium

Papers in the research track will be presented in poster format, except for a small number of papers (selected by the organisers), which will be scheduled for oral presentation.

The industrial track is composed of oral sessions (in parallel to the oral sessions of the research track). In addition, companies will exhibit their newest technology developments with live demonstrations.

Paper Submission and Review Process

Prospective authors for the research track should submit a full paper (four pages) in pdf-format before or on February 4, 2005. Research papers should describe original work by the authors in sufficient technical detail.

Prospective presenters or contributors to the industrial track should submit a 200-word proposal (abstract) describing the contents of the proposed talk or demonstrator before or on February 4, 2005. Optionally, they may also submit a full paper at that time.

The abstracts and papers must be submitted on the conference website http://acivs.org/sps2005/. Full papers must comply with the guidelines for authors available on that website.

LaTeX style sheets (preferred), MSWord templates and detailed information on the submission process can be found on the SPS-DARTS 2005 website.


Paper/abstract submission: February 4, 2005
Notification of acceptance: March 4, 2005
Camera-ready paper due: March 21, 2005
Registration deadline for authors: March 21, 2005
Early registration deadline: March 21, 2005



The conference will take place in Het Provinciehuis, Antwerp, Belgium on April 19-20, 2005. Het Provinciehuis is located in the Koningin Elisabethlei 22, Antwerp, Belgium. The center can be easily reached by public transport (tram lines 2 and 15).

If you travel by car, we suggest that you park your car in one of the following areas:

Conference Proceedings

Accepted papers will be published in the CD-Rom conference proceedings in pdf-format. Authors may optionally include a directory containing additional multimedia content, e.g., sound files, demo's or video sequences, subject to space availability. Authors wishing to take advantage of this possibility should contact for additional instructions.

SPS-DARTS 2005 Registration Fees

Details on the registration fees are available on the website. The registration fees include access to the technical sessions, a copy of the conference proceedings, coffee breaks, lunches and a conference dinner. The registration fee does not include lodging.

Companies wishing to exhibit a demonstrator should contact for price information.

Steering Committee

, Philips, Leuven, Belgium.
, DSP-Valley, Leuven, Belgium.
, Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands.
, Ghent University, Gent, Belgium.
, DSP-Valley, Leuven, Belgium.
, University of Twente, Enschede, the Netherlands.

Program Committee

John Beerends, TNO Telecom, Delft, the Netherlands.
Jan Bormans, IMEC, Leuven, Belgium.
Jan Cornelis, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussels, Belgium.
Christophe Couvreur, Scansoft, Merelbeke, Belgium.
Johan David, Philips, Leuven, Belgium.
Luc Deneire, Université de Nice, Sophia-Antipolis Cedex, France.
Simon Doclo, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Leuven, Belgium.
Richard Heusdens, Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands.
Inald Lagendijk, TU-Delft, Delft, the Netherlands.
Marc Moonen, KULeuven, Leuven, Belgium.
Wilfried Philips, Ghent University, Gent, Belgium.
Peter Simkens, DSP-Valley, Leuven, Belgium.
Kees Slump, University of Twente, Enschede, the Netherlands.
Piet Sommen, TU-Eindhoven, Eindhoven, the Netherlands.
Filiep Vanpoucke, Advanced Bionics, Antwerp, Belgium.
Raymond Veldhuis, University of Twente, Twente, the Netherlands.

This software generating these pages is © (not Ghent University), 2002-2017. All rights reserved.

The data on this page is © SPS-DARTS 2005. All rights reserved.

The server hosting this website is owned by the department of Telecommunications and Information Processing (TELIN) of Ghent University.

Problems with the website should be reported to .

This page was generated on Friday September 22nd, 2017 20:56:48.