Conference logo

Acivs 2003

Advanced Concepts for Intelligent Vision Systems

September 2-5, 2003

Ghent, Belgium

IEEE logo

Benelux Signal
Processing Chapter

Eurasip logo
DSP Valley logo RUG logo IPS logo
Philips logo
Barco logo

Acivs 2003 Call for papers

The Acivs 2003 paper submission deadline has been postponed to April 21, 2003.

Acivs 2003 is a conference focusing on techniques for building adaptive, intelligent, safe and secure imaging systems. Acivs 2003 will consist of four days of lecture sessions, both regular (30 mns) and invited presentations, and a poster session. The longer conference duration will allow for more free time than last year's program which was concentrated on three days. To ensure a large audience for each oral presentation or poster, there will be no parallel sessions.

Acivs 2003 will also feature a conference dinner, and two other social activities. Last year, these consisted of a "Belgian Beer Tasting Experience" and a boat trip in the historic city center of Ghent. The details of the social activities for Acivs 2003 will be announced later.

The conference fee (350 € for early registration and 420 € for late registration) includes the social program (conference dinner, coffee breaks, snacks and cultural activities) and a copy of the CDROM conference proceedings. Students and IEEE members can register at a reduced fee (275 € for early registration and 330 € for late registration).

Topics include (but are not limited to)


The conference will take place in Het Pand, Onderbergen 1, 9000 Ghent, Belgium on September 2-5, 2003. The venue is a beatiful monastery located in the historic center of the medieval city of Ghent, which can be easily reached by train from Brussels main airport.

Paper submission and review process

Prospective authors should prepare a full paper and submit it electronically. The paper should consist of 4-8 pages in A4 format and should conform to the style guidelines outlined on the Acivs 2003 website. LaTeX style sheets, MSWord templates and more detailed information on the submission process can be found on the Acivs 2003 website (
All submissions will be reviewed by at least 2 members of the Program Committee; additional reviewers will be consulted if needed. The papers should provide sufficient background information and should clearly indicate the original contribution. They should state and discuss the main results and provide adequate references.

Conference proceedings

Accepted papers will be published in the CD-Rom conference proceedings in pdf-format. Authors may optionally include a directory containing additional multimedia content, e.g., sound files, demo's or video sequences, subject to space availability. Authors wishing to take advantage of this possibility should contact the Steering Committee for additional instructions.

Important deadlines

April 21, 2003 Full paper submission
June 1, 2003 Notification of acceptance
June 20, 2003 Camera-ready papers due
June 15, 2003 Registration deadline for authors of accepted papers
July 15, 2003 Early registration deadline
August 15, 2003 Late registration deadline
September 2-5, 2003 Acivs 2003

Steering Committee

Jacques Blanc-Talon, Jacques Blanc-Talon, DGA/DCE/CTA, Arcueil, France.
Wilfried Philips, Wilfried Philips, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
Dan Popescu, Dan Popescu, CSIRO Mathematical and Information Sciences, Canberra, Australia.

Program committee

Fritz Albregtsen, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway.
Michel Barlaud, I3S, CNRS, UNSA, France.
Philippe Bolon, University of Savoie, Annecy, France.
Don Bone, Mediaware Solutions, Canberra, ACT, Australia.
Pamela Cosman, University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, USA.
Mihai Datcu, German Aerospace Center DLR, Wessling, Germany.
Jennifer Davidson, Iowa State University, USA.
Edward Delp, Purdue University, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, West Lafayette, USA.
Christine Fernandez Maloigne, Université de Poitiers, Chasseneuil, France.
Don Fraser, Australian Defence Force Academy, Canberra, Australia.
Georgy Gimel'farb, The University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand.
Daniele Giusto, University of Cagliari, Cagliari, Italy.
John Illingworth, University of Surrey, Guildford, UK.
Jean-Michel Jolion, INSA, Villeurbanne Cedex, France.
Richard Kleihorst, Philips Research, Eindhoven, The Netherlands.
Itsuo Kumazawa, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan.
Murat Kunt, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland.
Hideo Kuroda, Nagasaki University, Nagasaki, Japan.
Bruce Litow, James Cook University, Townsville, Australia.
Wojciech Mokrzycki, IPIPAN, Poland.
Edgard Nyssen, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussel, Belgium.
Ole Fogh Olsen, The IT University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark.
Marcin Paprzycki, Oklahoma State University, Tulsa, USA.
Jussi Parkkinen, University of Joensuu, Joensuu, Finland.
Fernando Pereira, Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisboa, Portugal.
Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu, Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications, Paris, France.
Matti Pietikäinen, University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland.
Gianni Ramponi, Trieste University, Trieste, Italy.
Wojciech Szpankowski, Purdue University, USA.
Frederic Truchetet, Le2i, Le Creusot, France.
Dimitri Van De Ville, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland.
Juan Jose Villanueva, CVC/Univ. Autonoma de Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain.

This software generating these pages is © (not Ghent University), 2002-2024. All rights reserved.

The data on this page is © Acivs 2003. All rights reserved.

The server hosting this website is owned by the department of Telecommunications and Information Processing (TELIN) of Ghent University.

Problems with the website should be reported to .


This page was generated on Tuesday July 16th, 2024 13:50:12.