ACIVS logo

Acivs 2002

Advanced Concepts for Intelligent Vision Systems

September 9-11, 2002, Ghent University, Belgium.

IEEE logo

Benelux Signal Processing Chapter

DSP Valley logo RUG logo IPS logo
Barco logo

Acivs 2002 Call for papers

The Acivs 2002 paper submission deadline has been postponed to April 21, 2002.

Acivs 2002 is a conference focusing on techniques for building adaptive, intelligent, safe and secure imaging systems. Acivs 2002 will consist of four days of lecture sessions, both regular (30 mns) and invited presentations, and a poster session. The longer conference duration will allow for more free time than last year's program which was concentrated on three days. To ensure a large audience for each oral presentation or poster, there will be no parallel sessions.

Acivs 2002 will also feature a conference dinner, and two other social activities. Last year, these consisted of a "Belgian Beer Tasting Experience" and a boat trip in the historic city center of Ghent. The details of the social activities for Acivs 2002 will be announced later.

The conference fee (300 € for early registration and 360 € for late registration) includes the social program (conference dinner, coffee breaks, snacks and cultural activities) and a copy of the CDROM conference proceedings. Students and IEEE members can register at a reduced fee (225 € for early registration and 270 € for late registration).

Topics include (but are not limited to)


The conference will take place in , on September 9-11, 2002. The venue is a beatiful monastery located in the historic center of the medieval city of Ghent, which can be easily reached by train from Brussels main airport.

Paper submission and review process

Prospective authors should prepare a full paper and submit it electronically. The paper should consist of 4-8 pages in A4 format and should conform to the style guidelines outlined on the Acivs 2002 website. LaTeX style sheets, MSWord templates and more detailed information on the submission process can be found on the Acivs 2002 website (
All submissions will be reviewed by at least 2 members of the Program Committee; additional reviewers will be consulted if needed. The papers should provide sufficient background information and should clearly indicate the original contribution. They should state and discuss the main results and provide adequate references.

Conference proceedings

Accepted papers will be published in the CD-Rom conference proceedings in pdf-format. Authors may optionally include a directory containing additional multimedia content, e.g., sound files, demo's or video sequences, subject to space availability. Authors wishing to take advantage of this possibility should contact the Steering Committee for additional instructions.

Important deadlines

April 21, 2002 Full paper submission
--- Notification of acceptance
June 15, 2002 Camera-ready papers due
June 15, 2002 Registration deadline for authors of accepted papers
July 1st, 2002 Early registration deadline
--- Late registration deadline
September 9-11, 2002 Acivs 2002

Steering Committee

Jacques Blanc-Talon, Jacques Blanc-Talon, DGA/DCE/CTA, Arcueil, France.
Wilfried Philips, Wilfried Philips, TELIN - Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium.
Dan Popescu, Dan Popescu, CSIRO Mathematical and Information Sciences, Canberra, Australia.

Program committee

Fritz Albregtsen, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway.
Michel Barlaud, I3S/INRIA, France.
Karleinz Bers, FGAN-FOM, Germany.
Philippe Bolon, University of Savoie, France.
Don Bone, Mediaware Solutions, Australia.
Pamela Cosman, University of California, San Diego.
Mihai Datcu, German Aerospace Center DLR, Wessling, Germany.
Jennifer Davidson, Iowa State University, USA.
Georgy Gimel'farb, University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand.
Daniele Giusto, University of Cagliari, Italy.
John Illingworth, University of Surrey, UK.
Murat Kunt, EPFL, Switzerland.
Hideo Kuroda, Nagasaki University, Nagasaki, Japan.
Bruce Litow, James Cook University, Australia.
Claus Madsen, Lab. of Computer Vision and Media Technology, Aalborg East, Denmark.
Wojciech Mokrzycki, IPIPAN, Poland.
Guy Nason, University of Bristol, Bristol, England.
Edgard Nyssen, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Brussel, Belgium.
Marcin Paprzycki, Oklahoma State University, USA.
Jussi Parkkinen, University of Joensuu, Finland.
Fernando Pereira, IST, Lisboa, Portugal.
Matti Pietikäinen, University of Oulu, Finland.
Gianni Ramponi, Trieste University, Trieste, Italy.
Georges Stamon, SIP, Paris V University, Paris, France.
Wojciech Szpankowski, Purdue University, USA.
Frederic Truchetet, Le2i, Le Creusot, France.
Juan Jose Villanueva, CVC/Univ. Autonoma de Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain.

This software generating these pages is © (not Ghent University), 2002-2024. All rights reserved.

The data on this page is © Acivs 2002. All rights reserved.

The server hosting this website is owned by the department of Telecommunications and Information Processing (TELIN) of Ghent University.

Problems with the website should be reported to .


This page was generated on Saturday April 13th, 2024 02:15:21.